

FRASER VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT ELECTORAL AREA SERVICES COMMITTEE OPEN MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, January 28, 2020 4:00 pm FVRD Boardroom, 45950 Cheam Avenue, Chilliwack, BC

Members Present: Director Bill Dickey, Electoral Area D, Chair

Director Terry Raymond, Electoral Area A Director Dennis Adamson, Electoral Area B Director Wendy Bales, Electoral Area C

Director Orion Engar, Electoral Area E (arrived at 4:03 p.m.)

Director Hugh Davidson, Electoral Area F Director Al Stobbart, Electoral Area G Director Taryn Dixon, Electoral Area H

Staff Present: Jennifer Kinneman, Acting Chief Administrative Officer

Mike Veenbaas, Director of Financial Services/Chief Financial Officer Jaime Reilly, Acting Director of Corporate Affairs/Corporate Officer

Kristy Hodson, Manager of Financial Operations

Beth Klein, Accountant

Matthew Fang, Network Analyst I Amanda Molloy, Executive Assistant

Kristen Kohuch, Executive Assistant to CAO and Board

Chris Lee, Executive Assistant, Corporate Admin (Recording Secretary)

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dickey called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA, ADDENDA AND LATE ITEMS

Moved By STOBBART Seconded By ADAMSON

THAT the Agenda, Addenda and Late Items for the Electoral Area Services Committee Open Meeting of January 28, 2020 be approved;

AND THAT all reports, correspondence and other information set to the Agenda be received for information.

CARRIED

3. BUDGET DISCUSSION

Mike Veenbaas, Director of Financial Services reported that after the budget discussion in December, Staff had the opportunity to meet with Electoral Area Directors to review options for a change to the 2020 Draft Financial Plan.

Mr. Veenbaas gave a brief presentation, outlining the financial planning process and provided an overview of the following Regional Services and EA Wide Services:

- Requisition Regional Services
- Requisition EA Wide Services
- Regional Administration
- Regional Fire Dispatch
- Regional Mosquito Control
- Electoral Area Administration
- Emergency Management (Emergency Program Assistant position eliminated)
- Procurement and Risk Specialist

Mr. Veenbaas presented and reviewed the following options for a Financial Plan change for consideration:

- 1) Change corporate restructure allocation
 - 75% funded by regional administration 1.2%
 - 100% funded by regional administration 2.5%
- 2) Reverse 2019 EA Director pay increase -0.7%
- 3) Cancel Engineering Services Coordinator funding change 1.3%
- 4) Cut Emergency Management training budget 0.6%
- 5) Cut Procurement/Risk position 0.9%
- 6) Increase Building Permit revenue budget 0.4%
- 7) Eliminate EA Admin "communications" fund 0.7%

Staff recommended four of the presented options for the Committee's consideration based on feedback from Committee members which will result in a 3.2% reduction to the Financial Plan.

Moved by DAVIDSON Seconded by RAYMOND **THAT** the Electoral Area Services Committee support the following options to be incorporated into the 2020 Draft Financial Plan:

- Change corporate restructure allocation to be 75% funded by regional administration
- Cut Procurement/Risk position
- Increase Building Permit revenue budget
- Eliminate Electoral Area Admin "communications" fund

CARRIED

4. ADDENDA ITEMS/LATE ITEMS

None

5. PUBLIC QUESTION PERIOD FOR ITEMS RELEVANT TO AGENDA

None

6. RESOLUTION TO CLOSE MEETING

Moved By STOBBART Seconded By RAYMOND

THAT the meeting be closed to the public, except for Senior Staff and the Executive Assistant, to consider matters pursuant to:

• Section 90(1)(c) of the *Community Charter* - labour relations or other employee relations

CARRIED

The Open Meeting recessed at 4.33 p.m.

7. RECONVENE OPEN MEETING

The Open Meeting reconvened at 4:36 p.m.

8. RISE AND REPORT OUT OF CLOSED MEETING

None

9. ADJOURNMENT

Moved By STOBBART Seconded By ENGAR

THAT the Electoral Area Services Committee Open Meeting of January 28, 2020 be adjourned.

CARRIED

The Electoral Area Services Committee Open Meeting of January 28, 2020 adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

MINUTES CERTIFIED CORRECT:
Director Bill Dickey, Chair