



CORPORATE REPORT

To: CAO for the Recreation, Culture & Airpark Services Commission Date: 2019-09-17 From: Jody Castle, Manager of Recreation, Culture & Airpark Services File No: 0540-56

Subject: Request for Expression of Interest for Members at Large

INTENT

This report is intended to advise the Commission of the upcoming Request for Expression of Interest for Members at Large. Staff is not looking for a recommendation and has forwarded this information should members want more clarification to discuss the item further.

STRATEGIC AREA(S) OF FOCUS

Provide Responsive & Effective Public Services

BACKGROUND

The Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) Recreation, Culture and Airpark Services (RCAS) Commission Establishment Bylaw No. 1192, 2012 indicates that the RCAS Commission shall be composed of seven members who shall serve without remuneration, and such members shall be appointed by the FVRD Board as follows:

- a) Director of Electoral Area A;
- b) Director of Electoral Area B;
- c) Municipal Director from the District of Hope;
- d) 2 Members at Large from Electoral Area B;
- e) 2 Members at Large from the District of Hope.

The term of office of the appointed Members at Large shall be 2 years, with the terms being staggered to ensure continuity of the RCAS Commission. One Member at Large from Electoral Area B and one from the District of Hope shall be appointed each year.

Appointments are solicited in September of each year by way of an Expression of Interest (see attached). This solicitation is advertised throughout Area B and the District of Hope. Responses to the Expression of Interest will be brought forward to the RCAS Commission at a future scheduled meeting.

DISCUSSION

The current terms for the RCAS Commission members can be found in the table below:

Name	Title	Term(s) Served	Term Expires Year End
Terry Raymond	Director, Electoral Area A	2015-2022	2022
Dennis Adamson	Director, Electoral Area B	2012-2022	2022
Peter Robb	Municipal Director, District of Hope	2019-2022	2022
Peter Adamo	Member at Large, Electoral Area B	2019-2020	2020
Dianne Clarke	Member at Large, Electoral Area B	2016-2019	2019
Shanon Fischer	Member at Large, District of Hope	2017-2020	2020
Hilary Kennedy	Member at Large, District of Hope	2016-2019	2019

Commissioner Kennedy and Commissioner Clarke have completed their current term, and are eligible to apply to be considered for an additional term.

The Expression of Interest will be posted beginning September 23, 2019, and will close at 4pm on November 20, 2019. Candidates may submit applications through email or in person at the Rec Centre.

COST

Advertising costs budgeted for in 2019.

CONCLUSION

The Expression of Interest for Members at Large (2020-2021 term) will be advertised from September through November, with responses being brought forward to the RCAS Commission for consideration at the regularly scheduled December meeting.

COMMENTS BY:

Stacey Barker, Director of Regional Services: Reviewed and supported.

Mike Veenbaas, Director of Financial Services: Reviewed and supported.

Jennifer Kinneman, Acting Chief Administrative Officer: Reviewed and supported.