

Highlights from the Thompson-Nicola Regional District Board of Directors' Meeting of January 18, 2018

Fraser Basin Manager Details River Project

Mike Simpson, Senior Regional Manager for the Fraser Basin Council, presented to the Board about the group's Thompson Watershed Flood and Debris Flow Disaster Mitigation Risk Assessment Project. This will include a watershed-wide risk assessment of flood and land/debris flows covering the entire Thompson River watershed. It is hoped that the project will have participation from all local and First Nations government in the watershed.

Simpson extended an invitation to Board members to attend a community-to-community meeting in February, when local and First Nations governments from the entire Thompson River Watershed are expected to attend.

Committee Members Named for 2018

The Board approved the following appointments to committees for 2018: Municipal Finance Authority: John Ranta, Carol Schaffer (alternate) Municipal Insurance Authority: Dieter Dudy, Jack Jeyes (alternate) Shuswap Watershed Council: Ken Christian, **Rick Berrigan** The Chair also made appointments to the following committees: Audit; Economic Development& Recreation Services; Emergency Management/ Protective Services; Fraser Basin Council; Thompson-Nicola Invasive Plant Management; Kamloops Airport Authority; Policy Review; Regional Solid Waste Management; Utility Systems. Go to tnrd.ca to

Board Approves Temporary Library Closure

see the full list of appointees.

A temporary closure of the Kamloops Library in March was approved by the Board.

The anticipated six-week closure will allow for

construction that is part of a complete redesign of the Library. This includes general construction (electrical, plumbing, concrete coring, millwork, flooring, drywall, painting), and major shelving/ collections moves, which will constitute the larger portion of the renovation.

The Library redesign addresses several needs including: a functional space plan and patron self-service; interior 'zoning' for noise-related activities; and visual identity.

TNRD to Participate in Biosolids Pilot Project

The Board agreed to accept an invitation from the province to participate in an engagement pilot project as a part of the changes to the Organic Matter Recycling Regulation (OMRR). The pilot project is based at OK Ranch near Jesmond in Electoral Area 'E'. The TNRD will be offering cooperation, and will be receiving notifications from the province, but will not be providing technical input.

The OK Ranch has previously had biosolids applied to pasture lands as a soil amendment under OMRR and is currently the site of UBC research and surveys on the impacts on insects, birds, and wildlife on lands subject to land applications as compared to control lands where no biosolids were applied.

Ashcroft HUB Gets Gas Tax Money

The Board approved the expenditure to a maximum of \$65,000, allocated to Electoral Area "I" (Blue Sky Country), in Federal Gas Tax - Community Works Fund revenues, to fund energy efficiency upgrades at the Ashcroft HUB Building.

The Ashcroft HUB Society is a non-profit organization with a mission to minimize the rural population decline and increase community engagement. Board of Directors Chair: John Ranta Village of Cache Creek Directors

Electoral Area "A" (Wells Gray Country)

Willow Macdonald Electoral Area "B" (Thompson Headwaters)

> Sally Watson Electoral Area "E" (Bonaparte Plateau)

Steven Rice Electoral Area "I" (Blue Sky Country)

Ronaye Elliott Electoral Area "J" (Copper Desert Country)

Ken Gillis Electoral Area "L" (Grasslands)

Randy Murray Electoral Area "M" (Beautiful Nicola Valley — North)

Herb Graham Electoral Area "N" (Beautiful Nicola Valley — South)

Bill Kershaw Electoral Area "O" (Lower North Thompson)

Mel Rothenburger Electoral Area "P" (Rivers and the Peaks)

> Jack Jeyes Village of Ashcroft Virginia Smith

> District of Barriere Rick Berrigan

> Village of Chase John Harwood

> District of Clearwater Jim Rivett Village of Clinton

Ken Christian City of Kamloops

Dieter Dudy City of Kamloops Tina Lange

City of Kamloops Arjun Singh City of Kamloops

Pat Wallace City of Kamloops

Dennis Walsh City of Kamloops

Robin Smith District of Logan Lake

Jessoa Lightfoot Village of Lytton

Neil Menard City of Merritt

Al Raine Sun Peaks Mountain Resort

Next Regular Board Meeting — Thursday, February 8, 1:15 p.m.