

## FRASER VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MINUTE

by special vote pursuant to B.C. Reg. 41/91 as amended by B.C. Reg. 17/98

## **MOTION FOR CONSIDERATION:**

**THAT** Jaime Schween be appointed as the Chief Election Officer for the purposes of conducting the assent voting opportunity regarding the proposed North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw;

**AND THAT** Pam Loat and Tina Mooney be appointed as Deputy Chief Election Officers for purposes of conducting the assent voting opportunity regarding the proposed North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw;

**AND FURTHER THAT** remuneration for the Chief Election Officer be set at two days off in lieu of overtime or cash equivalent, and the remuneration for the Deputy Chief Election Officers be set at one day off in lieu of overtime or cash equivalent;

**AND THAT** the question to be voted on be as follows:

"Are you in favour of the Fraser Valley Regional District adopting the North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 1468, 2018 to authorize the borrowing of up to \$6.5 million for the construction of a new sewage treatment plant to serve the North Cultus Sewer System Service Area?"

**AND FINALLY THAT** the following synopsis for purposes of Assent Voting with respect to proposed North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 1468, 2018 be established as follows:

"The purpose of proposed Bylaw No. 1468, 2018 is to authorize long term borrowing in an amount up to \$6.5 million for the capital costs associated with the construction of a new sewage treatment plant to serve the North Cultus Sewer System Service Area. The maximum term for which debentures may be issued to secure the deb created by Bylaw No. 1468, 2018 is twenty (20) years.

**TAKE NOTICE** that the above is a synopsis only of proposed Bylaw No. 1468, 2018. This synopsis is not an interpretation of the bylaw. The full text of the bylaw may be inspected at the office of the Fraser Valley Regional District at 45950 Cheam Avenue, Chilliwack, BC from March 15, 2018 between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm Monday to Friday, excluding holidays. The bylaw is also available at <a href="https://www.fvrd.ca.">www.fvrd.ca.</a>"

CARRIED ALL/UNWEIGHTED

I, Paul Gipps, Chief Administrative Officer, declare as follows:

- 1. Chair Lum and Director Dixon have informed me that they consider the Assent Voting Opportunity (Referendum) for the proposed North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 1468, 2018" to be urgent, and that calling a regular or special meeting to conduct the voting is impractical.
- 2. I have made all reasonable attempts to communicate the matter to be voted on, by telephone, email or in person, to each Director entitled to vote and have recorded each Director's vote.
- 3. I have informed the Chair of the results of the voting.

Dated: March 5, 2018

Paul Gipps

**Chief Administrative Officer** 

I, Jason Lum, Chair, declare that the vote has passed.

Dated: March 5, 2018

## Assent Voting Opportunity (Referendum): Proposed North Cultus Sewer System Loan Authorization Bylaw No. 1468, 2018 Unweighted Voting [ S.791(2) LGA ]

Director's Name	Jurisdiction	No. of Votes Assigned	For	Against
Director Terry Raymond	Electoral Area A	1	Yes	
Director Dennis Adamson	Electoral Area B	1	Yes	
Director Alec Niemi	Electoral Area C	1	Yes	
Director Bill Dickey	Electoral Area D	1	Yes	
Director Orion Engar	Electoral Area E	1	Yes	<u> </u>
Director Ray Boucher	Electoral Area F	1	Yes	
Director Al Stobbart	Electoral Area G	1	Yes	1
Director Taryn Dixon	Electoral Area H	1	Yes	1
Director Henry Braun	City of Abbotsford	1	<u> </u>	-
Director Patricia Ross	City of Abbotsford	1	Yes	
Director Moe Gill	City of Abbotsford	1		
Director Dave Loewen	City of Abbotsford	1		-
Director Kelly Chahal	City of Abbotsford	1	Yes	
Director Ross Siemens	City of Abbotsford	1	Yes	
Director Jason Lum	City of Chilliwack	1	Yes	
Director Sharon Gaetz	City of Chilliwack	1	Yes	
Director Sam Waddington	City of Chilliwack	1	Yes	
Director Chuck Stam	City of Chilliwack	1	Yes	
Director Pam Alexis	District of Mission	1	Yes	
Director Jim Hinds	District of Mission	1		
Director John Van Laerhoven	District of Kent	1	Yes	
Director Wilfried Vicktor	District of Hope	1		
Director Leo Facio	Village of Harrison Hot Springs	1	Yes	

Total votes possible	23
Total number of votes recorded	18
Total votes required to carry resolution (weighted)	12
Total votes recorded in affirmative	18
Opposed	-